Archive | 6:59 am

Evening Madness

22 Sep

I’m very early for the slightly late 7.44 this morning which gives me ample time to moan about last night where the 18.30 was invaded by a school trip. I got to the station well in time and the train wasn’t there but I went to platform 4 to wait by the door place and there were between 30 and 40 children aged about eight or nine waiting on the platform by the place I wait. I could only see three or four staff with them who can never be arsed to look out for the kids and tell them to shut up so obviously it was loud. The train arrived, I got on and seconds later so did they, pushing and shoving. I don’t know where the other commuters went but I guess they didn’t want to be crammed on with these children and fucked off elsewhere. So I sat in my normal seat and eventually a kid sat next to me who I immediately told not to sit there as I didn’t want to sit next to a kid. So he hovered and then got told to sit back down by an adult with him who I obviously challenged and she told me – in the same way she had just spoken to the kid – that he was entitled to a seat. I just wrinkled my nose at her and she tried to stare me out in full teacher delusions of grandeur mode and I just laughed. He did eventually move thank fuck and I had a normal adult next to me. The adults with them ensured that the gangway was blocked so people were forced to stand and cram in by the doors which is so helpful. Before we even left Cannon Street I had a look on Southeastern website for information about group travel and as I suspected they aren’t permitted to travel at peak times. Smugness came over me but I didn’t want to tell the hard faced bitch to get off because the station staff should have told her that. They never do their job though so I don’t know why they are even there. So the journey panned out with me having the ipod turned up so loud my ears were bleeding but I could still hear the badly controlled brats shouting, banging, screaming and laughing above that racket. After a stop or two I gathered that they were going to get off at Woolwich Arsenal which is where I’m currently forced to get off so I decided to get off at Charlton instead and get a bus which is just what I did. I ended up being slightly late home but I would have been late being trapped behind those little shits as I tried to get out of the station anyway had I stayed on. I don’t need to worry about rush hour trains home today or tomorrow so I can relax thank fuck. Why on earth is a school trip travelling after 6pm anyway? They should be home at that hour not fucking off miserable commuters. I must admit that is the most rage I have felt in a long time which wasn’t helped by the bitch with them telling me the kids were entitled to a seat – they were not. They had one each and as they are small you could have rammed another couple into the space. If I ever see that again waiting to board my train I will be ensuring I kick up such a fuss with the train staff that they either tell them no or I end up arrested. We don’t need an additional 40 people on a train which is already going to be filled to capacity because there now aren’t enough trains and aren’t enough frequency. It’s madness but as long as Southeastern get their pockets lined they couldn’t give a fuck about anyone who has to travel with them. Arseholes.